One-Day Symposium

on

"INDIAN NUCLEAR POWER PROGRAM: EVOLUTION, PRESENT & THE WAY FORWARD" 15th April 2024









Department of Civil Engineering (CED)

Department of Mechanical Engineering (MED) IGS Srinagar Chapter in Association Indian Nuclear Society (INS), Department of Mechanical Engineering and Department of Civil Engineering, National Institute of Technology Srinagar, J&K

ABOUT THE INSTITUTE

National Institute of Technology, Srinagar was established in 1960 as the Regional Engineering College, Srinagar. The Institute acquired the status of NIT in August 2003 and attained full autonomy in its Academics. In 2007, it became an Institute of National Importance. It is one of the 31 NITs and is directly under the control of the MHRD. The Institute is situated on the banks of the world-famous Dal Lake. Besides running various undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral programs, the Institute has also established an Innovation Incubation and Entrepreneurship Development (IIED) center.

ABOUT THE DEPARTMENTS

CED and MED are among the oldest departments, established in 1960. The departments run graduate programs leading to a Bachelor of Technology (B. Tech) degree in Civil Engineering and postgraduate programs leading to a Master of Technology (M. Tech). The two departments also run Ph.D. programs. While CED offers M.Tech programs in four specializations: Water Engineering, Structural Engineering, Resources Geotechnical and Transportation Engineering, Engineering & Planning, MED offers M. Tech programs in System Design, Industrial Tribology & Maintenance Management, and Thermal Engineering.

ABOUT THE SYMPOSIUM

The symposium is being conducted jointly by the INS and Civil & Mech Engineering Departments of NIT Srinagar and IGS Srinagar Chapter. The symposium will focus on the Indian Nuclear Program. It will be a great opportunity for the participants to acquaint themselves with the history

and future nuclear power plans in India. The program schedule includes talks by experts from the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB), Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), and Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL).

ELIGIBILITY

This program is open to UG and PG students, faculty members, scientists, and industry people with civil, mechanical, chemical, and materials science backgrounds.

REGISTRATION

Registration fee:

Rs. 1000 for Academicians/IGS Members/Industry

Rs. 500 for PG Students

PATRON

CHAIRMAN

Prof. A. Ravinder Nath, Prof. J A Bhat, Head, CED Director, NIT Srinagar

GUEST OF HONOURS

Prof. Roohie Naaz Mir, Dean, Research and Consultancy Prof. B A Mir, Chairman, IGS Srinagar Chapter

COORDINATORS

Dr. Falak Zahoor, Dr. Majid Hussain, Prof. Adnan Qayoum

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Prof. J A Bhat, Head, CED, Head, CED, NIT Srinagar Prof. D. Mandal, Dept of Chemical Engg, IIT Jammu Dr. Mayank Verma, INS EC Member

Prof. B A Mir, Hon. Secretary IGS Srinagar Chapter

EMINENT SPEAKERS

- 1. Dr. Suresh Gangotra, DAE 4. Mr P K Mishra NPCIL
- 2. Dr Mayank Verma, AERB 5. Mr Sourav Acharya, AERB
- 3. Dr. K K Yadav, BARC 6. Mr Neeraj Jain, NPCIL

CONTACT DETAILS

Dr. Falak Zahoor; ✓ falak@nitsri.ac.in ⊘+91-9018945366

Dr. Majid Hussain; majid.h@nitsri.ac.in @+91-9998547248

Registration Link

https://forms.gle/oUQUhjVorMQgQUid6



Bank Account Details

Acc. Name: IGS Local Chapter Acc. No.: 0391-0401-0000-3908

Type: **SAVINGS** Bank: J&K Bank

IFSC Code: JAKAORECSGR (5th

Digit is Zero)

MICR Code: 190051054

For Registration

For Fee Payment

The number of participants is limited to 100 only. Light refreshments will be served to participants.